DEADWOOD – The board of directors of the Black Hills Mining Museum recently donated a collection of archival records to Deadwood History’s Adams Museum. The historic documents belonged to Deadwood businessman, mayor and museum benefactor, William Emery Adams.
Dating from 1884 to 1937, the records reveal many aspects of W.E. Adams’ life. The Deadwood records include land purchases, stock investments, 1934 Days of ’76 correspondence, tax records and an 1884 letter from Adams’ father to his son James, W.E. Adams’ older brother who was also living in Deadwood at the time.
W.E. and his second wife Mary Adams spent their time traveling between Deadwood and California, where they owned citrus groves, personal homes and rental properties. The California documents include an inventory list of household property, a 1933-34 Duarte Foothill Citrus Association annual report, expense reports and correspondence to Mary from administrators regarding W.E.’s estate.
“Deadwood History, Inc. (DHI) is thankful for the generosity and thoughtfulness of the board of directors of the Black Hills Mining Museum for their donation of these archival materials. The documents help round out the W.E. Adams collection of personal papers house at the Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center,” stated Mary Kopco, DHI executive Director.
Pictured from left to right are Mary Kopco, Deadwood History Executive Director, Todd Duex, Bob Phillips, Black Hills Mining Museum board members, Brian Carmichael, Black Hills Mining Museum Executive Director, and Carolyn Weber, Deadwood History Assistant Director.
We inspire the global community by preserving and celebrating the cultural heritage of Deadwood and the Black Hills in the context of the American West through exceptional exhibits, innovative educational programs and access to extensive collections in unique settings.
Adams Museum, Days of ’76 Museum, Historic Adams House, and Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center (HARCC)
This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.