Educators and Interpreters

Join the Community

The Educators and Interpreters Community

AASLH’s Educators & Interpreters Community addresses the needs of educators and interpreters in history museums and history organizations as they seek to increase appreciation of community history.

The Educators and Interpreters Community is committed to helping paid and unpaid history professionals create quality educational programming and experiences. By promoting best practices, sharing resources, and providing opportunities to network, the community creates a foundation upon which all professionals can build and grow as they explore museum and informal learning, educational theory, and interpretive techniques.

The Educators & Interpreters Committee primary goals are to:

  • Seek out and promote quality education and interpretation content for AASLH Annual Meetings, webinars, workshops, and resources.
  • Promote education and interpretation best practices by using AASLH resources, including publications, books, and Technical Leaflets.
  • Provide opportunities for networking and resource sharing through the use of social media and posts on the AASLH blog.

Educators and Interpreters Committee

The AASLH Educators and Interpreters Affinity Community is led by the following committee:

Sarah Jencks, Chair (2020-2022)
Ford’s Theatre Society, Washington, D.C.
sjencks@fords.org

Megan Wood, Past Chair (2013-2020)
Ohio History Connection, Columbus, OH
mwood@ohiohistory.org

Matthew Blazek (2020-2022)
History Live! North East
execdirectorhistorylivene@gmail.com

Melanie Bowyer (2019-2021)
Monticello, Charlottesville, VA
mbowyer@monticello.org

Heather Bruegl (2020-2022)
Stockbridge Munsee Community, Bowler, WI
heather.bruegl@mohican-nsn.gov

Rich Cooper (2020-2022)
Conner Prairie, Fishers, IN
cooper@connerprairie.org

Amy Durbin, Secretary (2019-2021)
Marblehead Museum, Marblehead, MA
amydurbin@marbleheadmuseum.org

Jenn Edginton (2020-2022)
Illinois State Museum, Springfield, IL
jenn.edginton@illinois.gov

Mark Howell (2018-2022)
Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation, Williamsburg, VA
Mark.howell@jyf.virginia.gov

Sally Meyer (2020-2022)
Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Winchester, VA
smeyer@themsv.org

Nicole Moore (2016-2022)
National Center for Civil and Human Rights, Atlanta, GA
nmoore@civilandhumanrights.org

Ariel Peasley (2020-2022)
Coos History Museum & Maritime Collection, Coos Bay, OR
education@cooshistory.org

Ani Simmons (2018-2022)
Frisco Heritage Museum, Frisco, TX
asimmons@friscotexas.gov

Tamar Smithers (2019-2021)
National Museum of African American Music, Nashville, TN
tsmithers@nmaam.org

Jessica Waszak (2020-2022)
First Division Museum at Cantigny, Wheaton, IL
jwaszak@fdmuseum.org

Matthew White (2020-2022)
Washington, D.C.
mattadolphus@icloud.com

AASLH Staff Contact
Aja Bain
abain@aaslh.org
615-320-3203

Educators and Interpreters Forum

Looking for a way to connect with Educators and Interpreters colleagues across the country? The Educators and Interpreters Affinity Community discussion forum is a place where history practitioners can ask questions, share advice, and stay up-to-date with their peers. Please click the “Join the Community” button above to be directed to the AASLH Community Center to get involved with the Educators and Interpreters Affinity Community or click here.

Recent E&I publications from AASLH:

Learning from Museums (2nd ed.)
By John H. Falk and Lynn D. Dierking
2018

101 Museum Programs Under $100: Proven Programs that Work on a Shoestring Budget
By Lauren E. Hunley
2018

Performing History: How to Research, Write, Act, and Coach Historical Performances
By Ann E. Birney and Joyce M. Thierer
2018

The Museum Educator’s Manual: Educators Share Successful Techniques (2nd ed.)
By Anna Johnson, Kimberly A. Huber, Nancy Cutler, Melissa Bingmann, and Tim Grove
2017

Other education and interpretation resources:

@MuseumEdChat Twitter chat Thursdays, 8-9pm. Follow at #MuseumEdChat.

Association for Living History, Farm and Agricultural Museums

C3 Teachers Blog

DOCS Teach (National Archives)

Education Dive

Edutopia Integrated Studies

Excellence and Equity: Education and the Public Dimension of Museums

How History Class Divides Usby Stephen Sawchuk

iCivics teachers

Journal of Interpretation Research

Know Your Own Bone

Museum Education Roundtable

Smithsonian Institution’s For Educators

Stanford History Education Group

Teacher Twitter chats and hashtags: #sschat, #ssengchat, #histedchat, #historylearning, #edtech, #edtechchat

Teaching Tolerance

Theories of Childhood, Second Edition: An Introduction to Dewey, Montessori, Erikson, Piaget and Vygotsky by Carol Garhart Mooney

TPS Teachers Network