The Educators and Interpreters Community

AASLH’s Educators & Interpreters Community addresses the needs of educators and interpreters in history museums and history organizations as they seek to increase appreciation of community history.

The Educators and Interpreters Community is committed to helping paid and unpaid history professionals create quality educational programming and experiences. By promoting best practices, sharing resources, and providing opportunities to network, the community creates a foundation upon which all professionals can build and grow as they explore museum and informal learning, educational theory, and interpretive techniques.

The Educators & Interpreters Committee primary goals are to:

  • Seek out and promote quality education and interpretation content for AASLH Annual Meetings, webinars, workshops, and resources.
  • Promote education and interpretation best practices by using AASLH resources, including publications, books, and Technical Leaflets.
  • Provide opportunities for networking and resource sharing through the use of social media and posts on the AASLH blog.

 

Committee

The Educators and Interpreters Affinity Community is led by the following committee:

Megan Wood, Chair (2013-2019)
Ohio History Connection, Columbus, OH
mwood@ohiohistory.org

Anna Altschwager (2017-2019)
Wisconsin Historical Society, Eagle, WI
Anna.Altschwager@wisconsinhistory.org

Kate Betz (2013-2019)
Bullock Texas State History Museum, Austin, TX
kate.betz@thestoryoftexas.com

Christy Crisp (2015-2019)
Georgia Historical Society, Savannah, GA
ccrisp@georgiahistory.org

Mark Howell (2018-2020)
Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation, Williamsburg, VA
Mark.howell@jyf.virginia.gov

Sarah Jencks (2016-2020)
Ford’s Theatre Society, Washington, D.C.
sjencks@fords.org

Jacqueline Langholtz (2015-2019)
Monticello, Charlottesville, VA
jlangholtz@monticello.org

Nicole Moore (2016-2020)
The Center for Civil and Human Rights, Atlanta, GA
nmoore@civilandhumanrights.org

Ani Simmons (2018-2020)
The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, Dallas, TX
anis@jfk.org

Bridgitt Zielke (2017-2019)
Kohler Foundation, Kohler, WI
bridgitt.zielke@kohler.com

AASLH Staff Contact
Aja Bain
abain@aaslh.org
615-320-3203

Recent E&I publications from AASLH:

Learning from Museums (2nd ed.)
By John H. Falk and Lynn D. Dierking
2018

101 Museum Programs Under $100: Proven Programs that Work on a Shoestring Budget
By Lauren E. Hunley
2018

Performing History: How to Research, Write, Act, and Coach Historical Performances
By Ann E. Birney and Joyce M. Thierer
2018

The Museum Educator’s Manual: Educators Share Successful Techniques (2nd ed.)
By Anna Johnson, Kimberly A. Huber, Nancy Cutler, Melissa Bingmann, and Tim Grove
2017

Other education and interpretation resources:

@MuseumEdChat Twitter chat Thursdays, 8-9pm. Follow at #MuseumEdChat.

Association for Living History, Farm and Agricultural Museums

C3 Teachers Blog

DOCS Teach (National Archives)

Education Dive

Edutopia Integrated Studies

“Excellence and Equity: Education and the Public Dimension of Museums”

“How History Class Divides Us” by Stephen Sawchuk

iCivics teachers

Journal of Interpretation Research

Know Your Own Bone

Museum Education Roundtable

Smithsonian Institution’s “For Educators”

Stanford History Education Group

Teacher Twitter chats and hashtags: #sschat, #ssengchat, #histedchat, #historylearning, #edtech, #edtechchat

Teaching Tolerance

Theories of Childhood, Second Edition: An Introduction to Dewey, Montessori, Erikson, Piaget and Vygotsky by Carol Garhart Mooney

TPS Teachers Network

Interested in joining the community? Email Committee Chair Megan Wood at mwood@ohiohistory.org.

Upcoming Educational Opportunities

AASLH workshop, ““Creating Programs for Teachers and Students,” June 24-25, Austin, TX