Affinity Community: Field Services Alliance

The Field Services Alliance (FSA) is an organized group of individuals, offices, and agencies that provide training, guidance, and other forms of assistance to local historical societies, archives, libraries, and museums in their respective states or regions.

The Field Services Alliance exists to create a forum to share information, provide mutual support and collegiality, and promote scholarship among those who, on a statewide or regional level, offer educational services to local historical organizations and others who practice history.

Our mission

The Field Services Alliance exists to create a forum to share information, provide mutual support and collegiality, and promote scholarship among those who, on a statewide or regional level, offer educational services to local historical organizations and others who practice history.

 

Who we are

FSA members are paid staff members of organizations that have and promote an organized, ongoing program for delivery of services to small, grassroots history organizations. If your historical organization needs assistance, contact the field services office in your state (link to Agent Listing tab).

 

What we do

The types of services that individual Field Services offices vary, but can include:

  • Workshops and webinars geared toward the operation of museums
  • Onsite visits and consultations
  • Grant programs
  • Technical resources and documents
  • Meeting facilitation
  • Supply kits
  • Assessments
  • Network-building opportunities
  • And much more

The Field Services Alliance meets twice yearly – once for an annual Spring Training (hosted by a Field Service office at a different location each year) and once at the AASLH Annual Meeting. In addition, the Field Services Alliance offers an FSA Tips session each year during the annual meeting on a topic geared towards small museums.

 

Our history

In July 1988, a group convened in Chicago by AASLH as the Field Services Task Force agreed to continue meeting to discuss mutual interests and concerns. Born of that decision was a collaboration among a small group of public historians which has evolved into an active group of field services representatives who share ideas, resources, and strategies for their work to support local history organizations and practitioners.

Committee

The Field Services Alliance is led by the following committee:

Samantha Forsko, Chair (2018-2020)
Conservation Center for Art and Historic Artifacts, Philadelphia, PA
sforsko@ccaha.org

Amanda Higgins, Vice-Chair (2018-2020)
Kentucky Historical Society, Frankfort, KY
amanda.higgins@ky.gov

Amy Rohmiller, Secretary (2018-2020)
Ohio History Connection, Columbus, OH
arohmiller@ohiohistory.org

Terry Abrams (2018-2020)
Western New York Association of Historical Agencies, Getzville, NY
WYNAHA@yahoo.com

Jason Allen (2017-2019)
New Jersey Council for the Humanities, Trenton, NJ
jallen@njch.org

Tricia Blakistone (2017-2019)
Texas Historical Commission, Austin, TX
tricia.blakistone@thc.texas.gov

Todd Mahon (2018-2020)
Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, MN
todd.mahon@mnhs.org

Anastasia Matijkiw (2018-2020)
Conservation Center for Art and Historic Artifacts, Philadelphia, PA
amatijkiw@dhpsny.org

Jennifer Ortiz (2017-2019)
Utah Division of Arts and Museums, Salt Lake City, UT
jenniferortiz@utah.gov

Jeanette Rooney (2018-2020)
Indiana Historical Society, Indianapolis, IN
jrooney@indianahistory.org

Megan van Frank (2015-2019)
Utah Humanities Council, Salt Lake City, UT
vanfrank@utahhumanities.org

AASLH Staff Contact
Bethany Hawkins
hawkins@aaslh.org
615-320-3203

Blog:

About Field Services:

About Field Services Alliance:

Resource Center:

ListServ

To stay up to date with Field Services Alliance activities, join the listserv by emailing fs-list-subscribe@yahoogroups.com.

Facebook Group

To join the Field Services Alliance conversation, join the Facebook Group.

Looking for help?

FSA members are paid staff members of organizations that have and promote an organized, ongoing program for delivery of services to small, grassroots history organizations.

If your historical organization needs advice or technical assistance, please contact the field services office in your state. Additionally. you’ll find national resources below the state listings as well as a list of interested colleagues who aren’t directly associated with a field service office but are willing to assist local organizations.

 

State Name Organization/ City Email Phone
AL John Hardin Alabama Department of Archives & History/ Montgomery john.hardin@archives.alabama.gov 334-353-5441
Brittany Rudolph Alabama Department of Archives & History/ Montgomery Brittany.rudolph@archives.alabama.gov n/a
Tom Turley Alabama Department of Archives & History/ Montgomery tom.turley@archives.alabama.gov 334-353-4607
AK Addison Field Alaska State Museums/ Juneau Addison.field@alaska.gov 907-465-4899
AZ Janice Klein Museum Association of Arizona/ Phoenix azmuseums@gmail.com n/a
AR Donna Ludlow Arkansas Historical Association/ Fayetteville dludlow@uark.edu 479-575-5884
CA Jessica Monahan California Association of Museums/ Santa Cruz programs@calmuseums.org (831) 471-9970 x105
n/a Balboa Art Conservation Center/ San Diego info@bacc.org 619-236-9702
CO Katy Lewis Colorado-Wyoming Association of Museums/ Lakewood president@cwam-us.org 303-987-7879
CT Liz Shapiro Connecticut League of History Organizations/ Middletown liz@clho.org 860-685-7595
Scott Wands Connecticut Humanities/ Middletown swands@cthumanities.org 860-685-7579
DE n/a n/a n/a n/a
DC n/a n/a n/a n/a
FL n/a n/a n/a n/a
GA Michele Rodgers Georgia Association of Museums & Galleries/ Marietta gamg@gamg.org 770-853-7539
Robin Dale LYRASIS/ Atlanta robin.dale@lyrasis.org 404-892-0943 x4816
HI n/a n/a n/a n/a
ID Heidi Wiesner Idaho State Historical Museum/ Boise heidi.wiesner@ishs.idaho.gov 208-780-5188
IL Matthew Meacham Illinois Humanities Council/ Chicago rml@prairie.org 312-422-5585 x231
IN S. Chandler Lighty Indiana Historical Bureau/ Indianapolis ChLighty@history.IN.gov 317-232-2988
Tamara Hemmerlein Indiana Historical Society/ Indianapolis themmerlein@indianahistory.org 317-234-0170
Ramona Duncan-Huse Indiana Historical Society/ Indianapolis rduncan@indianahistory.org 317-234-0093
Jeannette Rooney Indiana Historical Society/ Indianapolis jrooney@indianahistory.org 317-233-8913
Karen DePauw Indiana Historical Society/ Indianapolis kdepauw@indianahistory.org 317-233-3110
IA Cynthia Sweet Iowa Museum Association/ Cedar Falls imasweet@cfu.net 319-239-2236
Leo Landis State Historical Society of Iowa/ Des Moines leo.landis@iowa.gov 515-281-4006
KS Lisa Dodson Kansas Museums Association/ Wichita director@ksmuseums.org 316-765-9197
KY Amanda Higgins Kentucky Historical Society/ Frankfort amanda.higgins@ky.gov 502-564-1792 x4440
Stuart Sanders Kentucky Historical Society/ Frankfort stuart.sanders@ky.gov 502-564-1792 x4420
LA John Lawrence Historic New Orleans Collection/ New Orleans johnl@hnoc.org 504-598-7174
ME n/a n/a n/a n/a
MD Mary Alexander Maryland Historical Trust/ Crownsville malexander@mdp.state.md.us 410-514-7622
MA Patricia L. Bruttomesso Mass Humanities/ Northampton localhistory@masshumanities.org 413-584-8440 x 303
Bill Veillette Northeast Document Conservation Center/ Andover n/a 978-470-1010 x223
Frances Harrell Northeast Document Conservation Center/ Andover fharrell@nedcc.org 978-470-1010
MI Sandra Clark Michigan Historical Center/ Lansing clarkss@michigan.gov 517-373-6362
Lisa Craig Brisson Michigan Museums Association/ Cheboygan lcbrisson@michiganmuseums.org 313-334-7643
Larry J. Wagenaar Historical Society of Michigan/ Lansing Wagenaar@hsmichigan.org 517-324-1828
Robert Myers Historical Society of Michigan/ Lansing myers@hsmichigan.org 517- 324-1828
MN Erin Hanafin Berg Preservation Alliance of Minnesota/ St. Paul ehberg@mnpreservation.org n/a
Amy Spong Minnesota Historical Society/ St. Paul amy.spong@mnhs.org 651-259-3466
Elizabeth de Soto Minnesota Humanities Commission/ St. Paul elizabeth@mnhum.org 651-772-4263
Elisa Redmond Midwest Art Conservation Center/ Minneapolis eredmond@preserveart.org 612-870-6301
Dianna Clise Midwest Art Conservation Center/ Minneapolis dclise@preserveart.org 612-870-3128
MS Cindy Gardner Mississippi Department of Archives and History/ Jackson cgardner@mdah.state.ms.us 601-576-6901
Dr. Barbara Carpenter Mississippi Humanities Council/ Jackson barbara@mhc.state.ms.us 601- 432-6752
MO n/a n/a n/a n/a
MT Deb Mitchell Montana Historical Society/ Helena dmitchell@mt.gov 406-444-4789
NE n/a n/a n/a n/a
NV n/a n/a n/a n/a
NH Wesley G. Balla New Hampshire Historical Society/ Concord wballa@nhhistory.org 603-856-0605
NJ n/a n/a n/a n/a
NM n/a n/a n/a n/a
NY Terry Abrams Western New York Association for Historical Agencies/ Getzville wnyaha@yahoo.com 716-439-6293
Heidi Bamford Documentary Heritage Program, WNY Region/ Buffalo hbamford@wnylrc.org 716-633-0705 x114
Priscilla Brendler Greater Hudson Heritage Network/ Elmsford director@greaterhudson.org 914-592-6726
Pamela Cooley Documentary Heritage Program for South Central New York dhs@mail.nysed.gov 518-474-8955
Andy Kitzman Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor/ Waterford andy_kitzmann@partner.nps.gov 518-237-7000
NC Adrienne Berney North Carolina Department of Cultural History Resources/ Raleigh adrienne.berney@ncdcr.gov 919-807-7418
Laura Ketcham North Carolina Office of Archives and History/ Raleigh laura.ketcham@ncdcr.gov 919-807-7395
Lyn Triplett North Carolina Division of Cultural Resources/ Raleigh lyn.triplett@ncdcr.gov n/a
LeRae Umfleet North Carolina Division of Cultural Resources/ Raleigh Lerae.umfleet@ncdcr.gov n/a
ND Danielle Stuckle State Historical Society of North Dakota/ Bismarck dlstuckle@nd.gov 701-328-2794
OH Stacia Kuczyeski Ohio History Connection/ Columbus skuczyeski@ohiohistory.org 614-297-2228
Johnna McEntee Ohio Museums Association/ Columbus oma@ohiohistory.org 614-297-2375
Anthony Gibbs Ohio History Connection/ Columbus agibbs@ohiohistory.org 614-297-2477
Dr. Betsy Hedler Ohio History Connection/ Columbus ehedler@ohiohistory.org 614-297-2538
Amy Rohmiller Ohio History Connection/ Columbus arohmiller@ohiohistory.org n/a
Andy Verhoff Ohio History Connection/ Columbus averhoff@ohiohistory.org 614-297-2341
OK Brenda Granger Oklahoma Museums Association/ Oklahoma City bgranger@okmuseums.org 405-424-7757
OR Todd Mayberry Oregon Heritage Commission/ Salem todd.mayberry@oregon.gov 503-986-0696
PA Ken Hickman Penn State All-Sports Museum/ University Park krh132@psu.edu 814-865-5577
Scott Doyle Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission/ Harrisburg midoyle@pa.gov 717-783-6021
Samantha Forsko Conservation Center for Art & Historic Artifacts/ Philadelphia sforsko@ccaha.org 215-545-0613
Laura Hortz Stanton Conservation Center for Art & Historic Artifacts/ Philadelphia lhortzstanton@ccaha.org 215-545-0613
Dyani Feige Conservation Center for Art & Historic Artifacts/ Philadelphia dfeige@ccaha.org 215-545-0613
RI Kirsten Hammerstrom Rhode Island historical Society/ Providence n/a 401-273-8107 x413
SC Joann Zeise South Carolina State Museum/ Columbia joann.zeise@scmuseum.org 803-898-4942
SD Jay Vogt South Dakota State Historical Society/ Pierre jay.vogt@state.sd.us 605-773-3798
TN Dan Brown Tennessee Historical Commission/ Nashville Dan.Brown@tn.gov 615-770-1091
Melissa Davis Humanities Tennessee/ Nashville melissa@humanitiestennessee.org 615-770-0006, x16
Debbie Shaw Tennessee Association of Museums/ Nashville tnmuseums@gmail.com 615-495-3354
Lydia Simpson Center for Historic Preservation, MTSU/ Murfreesboro lydia.simpson@mtsu.edu 615-898-2947
Carol Roberts Tennessee State Library and Archives/ Nashville carol.roberts@tn.gov 615-253-6460
Jeff Wells Tennessee State Parks/ Nashville jeff.wells@tn.gov 615-532-0031
TX Laura Casey Texas Historical Commission/ Austin laura.casey@thc.texas.gov 512-463-6427
Tricia Blakistone Texas Historical Commission/ Austin tricia.blakistone@thc.texas.gov 512-463-5921
Billy Fong Texas Association of Museums/ Ft. Worth billy@texasmuseums.org 817-332-1177
UT Jennifer Ortiz Utah Division of Arts and Museums/ Salt Lake City jenniferortiz@utah.gov 801-245-7288
Roger Roper Utah Division of State History/ Salt Lake City rroper@utah.gov 801-245-7251
Megan van Frank Utah Humanities/ Salt Lake City vanfrank@utahhumanities.org 801-359-9670
VT Rachel Onuf Vermont State Archives & Records Administration/ Montpelier rachel.onuf@vermont.gov 802-828-2204
VA Jennifer Thomas Virginia Association of Museums/ Richmond jthomas@virginiamuseums.org 804-358-3171
WA Lissa Kramer Washington State Historical Society Lissa.Kramer@wshs.wa.gov 253-798-5909
n/a 4Culture/ Seattle hello@4culture.org 206-296-7580
WV Joe Geiger West Virginia Archives and History/ Charleston Joe.N.Geiger@wv.gov 304-558-0230 x165
Charles W. Morris West Virginia Division of Culture and History/ Charleston charles.w.morris@wv.gov 304-558-0220 x704
WI Richard A. Bernstein Wisconsin Historical Society/ Madison rick.bernstein@wisconsinhistory.org 608-264- 6583
Janet Seymour Wisconsin Historical Society/ Eau Claire janet.seymour@wisconsinhistory.org 715- 836-2250
WY n/a n/a n/a n/a