The Religious History Community

The Religious History Affinity Group provides a forum in which the history of all faith communities may be shared, understood, and appreciated. Additionally, the group serves as a resource for sharing best practices in research, interpretation, and exhibition of religious history, particularly for those organizations with minimal experience in these areas.

Membership in the community is open to any member of the AASLH community, particularly those with an interest in religious history. The group seeks a broad representation of faith communities, institutions, and geographic locals in order to enhance and diversify its membership.

Raising Awareness

Since the early days of the colonization that would become the United States, religion played a role in crafting the character of both people and places. The Religious History Community works to increase the visibility of the role religion and faith played in state and local history and to provide support to institutions in interpreting and sharing this complex, and often volatile aspect of their past.

Committee

The Religious History Community is run by the following committee:

Barbara Franco, Chair (2018-2020)
Independent Scholar, Harrisburg, PA
bfranco3@verizon.net

Karen Graham Wade, Immediate Past Chair (2018-2020)
Community of Christ Historic Sites Foundation, Los Alamitos, CA
kgrahamwade@gmail.com

Petra Alsoofy (2017-2019)
Arab American National Museum, Dearborn, MI
Palsoofy@accesscommunity.org

Gary Boatright, Jr. (2018-2020)
LDS Church Historical Department, Salt Lake City, UT
boatrightgl@ldschurch.org

Lynne Calamia (2018-2020)
Arch Street Meeting House, Philadelphia, PA
lcalamia@pym.org

Dennis H. Cremin, Ph.D. (2015-2019)
Lewis University, Romeoville, IL
creminde@lewisu.edu

Aaron Genton (2015-2019)
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill, Harrodsburg, KY
aaron@shakervillageky.org

Taffey Hall (2017-2019)
Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives, Nashville, TN
taffey@sbhla.org

Ivy Weingram (2018-2020)
The National Museum of American Jewish History, Philadelphia, PA
iweingram@nmajh.org

Eric Lewis Williams (2018-2020)
National Museum of African American History and Culture, Washington, D.C.
williamsEL@si.edu

AASLH Staff Contact
Aja Bain
abain@aaslh.org
615-320-3203

Religious History Resources

Keep up with religious history blogs on the AASLH blog.

Browse religious history resources in the AASLH Resource Center.

Recent religious history publications from AASLH:

Interpreting Religion at Museums and Historic Sites
Edited by Gretchen Buggeln and Barbara Franco
2018

Interpreting American Jewish History at Museums and Historic Sites
By Avi Y. Decter
2016

Stay tuned for information on getting involved!

Stay tuned for more information!