NASHVILLE, TN— The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) announced the election of four history professionals to its governing council on September 20 at its Annual Meeting in Birmingham, Alabama. Association members nationwide cast ballots over the summer of 2013.

New AASLH Council Members are:

  • Janet Gallimore, Executive Director, Idaho State Historical Society, Boise, Idaho
  • Jane Lindsey, Director, Juneau-Douglas City Museum, Juneau, Alaska
  • Kenneth C. Turino, Manager of Community Engagement and Exhibitions, Historic New England, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Tobi Voigt, Chief Curatorial Officer, Detroit Historical Society, Detroit, Michigan

“We welcome these four new members to the AASLH Council. Each one brings years of experience and expertise in the field of state and local history and adds to the diversity of the council. Together we will work to ensure that AASLH serves as members’ “home for history” and that we communicate broadly the central role history plays in contemporary life and in the future of our American democracy,” said Lynne Ireland, AASLH Council Chair.

AASLH Council is comprised of sixteen individuals and four officers, representing a diversity of institutions and professions in the field of history. Each council member serves one four-year term.

About the American Association for State and Local History:  AASLH is a not-for-profit professional organization of individuals and institutions working to preserve and promote history. From its headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee, AASLH works to advance knowledge, understanding, and appreciation of local history in America. AASLH publishes books, technical publications, a quarterly magazine, and monthly newsletter. The association also sponsors regional and national training workshops and an annual meeting. For more information, please visit